VA – Under The Influence Vol.5 Compiled By Sean P [Z Records]

2015 was a productive year for Z Records with the release of Opolopos artist album, the Joey Negro compiled Le Freak – a tribute to the sound of Chic, 90s House & Garage and the long awaited Supafunkanova Vol.2.

As a result 2016 had a lot to live up to but it has already started in fine form with the release of Volume Two of Joey Negros Remixed With Love series, an album that has been supported by djs across the board and has been lauded as a landmark album in its genre.

Z Records continues its commitment to unearthing the obscure and long forgotten tracks from the last 40 years through the ever-popular Under The Influence series. Following on from Red Greg, Paul Phillips, James Glass and Nick The Record its now the turn of another of the worlds most respected record collectors to put together their selection. This time its long time Z Records album co-compiler Sean P.

Alongside Joey Negro, Sean P has been responsible for some killer selections for their Soul of Disco and Supafunkanova series, all of which feature tracks from Seans vast record collection. He has been collecting records since his early years, producing and releasing his own edits way before they became the norm and is widely recognized as one of the foremost fountains of musical knowledge so to say he is a stalwart of the underground music scene is well deserved.

For his UTI album he goes even deeper and much more across the board with tracks taking in afro, soul, funk, disco, Brit Funk, dub and jazz with many of the tracks costing hundreds if you were able to find the originals.

Included in the booklet are extensive track notes from Sean highlighting what he knows about these records and, where they are super-rare and obscure, what he doesnt.

As always with ZR compilations a lot of time and effort has been spent on creating these masters from the original vinyl, cleaning them up, removing all the clicks and pops resulting in the cleanest sounding copy possible.

Crystal Clear - (Caught Between) A Rock And A Hard Place (Original Mix)
Joanne Ellis - Bye Baby (Original Mix)
King David - Trinidad Rock (Original Mix)
Don & Oli - Superman (Sean P Edit)
BBRA - Do What Make You Feel Good (Original Mix)
George & Glen Miller - Easing (Original Mix)
HE3 Project - Thesis On Love (Original Mix)
Fruitcake - We Are Children (Original Mix)
Plunky & Oneness of Ju Ju, Virtania Tillery - Electric Ju Ju Nation/Keep It Moving (Original Mix)
Ed Watson & His Brass Circle - Roforofo Fight (Original Mix)
Jimmy Spencer - Summertime (Original Mix)
Les Femmes - Yes, You Thrill Me (Original Mix)
Nostromo - Around The World In 80 Seconds (Sean P Edit)
The Coalition - Where Do We Go From Here (Original Mix)
Bobby Cash Redd - Skate-Party People (Sean P Edit)
Medina & Mensah - Kowree Sambazzi (Original Mix)
Natural Hi - Fame (Hi Re-Mix) (Original Mix)
Yeow - Give My Heart Away (Original Mix)
The Mark IV - If You Can't Tell Me Something Good (Original Mix)
J.P. Robinson - Y'Shua (Original Mix)
Sandy Mercer - Give Me Your Love (Original Mix)
The Love Bite - What Goes Up (Original Mix)
World Quake Band - On The One (Original Mix)
William C Brown III - Come On And Go With Me (Original Mix)
Starship Gilbey - Take A Train (Original Mix)
Darlene Davis - Making It (Sean P Edit)
Starship Gilbey - Take A Train (Sean P Edit)